Summer has begun

Image

Our year in the town of Ketchum, ID has begun. We survived the drive, unpacked and found places for just about everything. It really is amazing to me how little we really need for a year of living. So many things are collected and so little is useful on a daily basis. Our clothes, computers, bikes, the Wii, lots of books for me and the girls, American Girl dolls, yoga mats, Bob’s fly fishing and hunting stuff, camera equipment, camping equipment and about a dozen stuffies. That is what we have deemed important for the year although most would not be called ‘essential’. How is that we still have full cupboards at home? So far I can’t think of one thing that we forgot and cannot do without. Starting the year off a little lighter feels really great.

This will be our 8th year coming to Sun Valley so we have bypassed the idea of being completely new to the area. When trail running the other day, I was asked by two different groups how to get somewhere and I actually knew what I was talking about. Feeling like a local already. The girls have jumped right in with a marathon play date with the girl next door — 9:30 am to 7:30 pm. We have been to Warm Springs Creek, The Big Wood River and Trail Creek in the three days we have been here. “It isn’t summer until we are in Sun Valley,” says my oldest daughter. I think that is true.

Let’s see, what shall we do today?

5 thoughts on “Summer has begun

  1. How exciting. I am so envious but proud to watch you follow your hearts & say no to the culture. I’ll definitely be doing some vicarious living through you.

  2. So cool Janna. I’ve never been to Sun Valley, but I am already envious. Congrats on a great life decision…The adventure begins. 🙂

  3. I’ve never been to Sun Valley, why I don’t know, but I look forward to seeing it through your eyes. Have a wonderful time.

  4. So happy to see you all have arrived, settled in and are already making the most of your adventure! I look forward to hearing all the wonderful stories Janna…..I know there will be many. Keep in touch. I miss your smiling faces already!

Leave a Reply

